Saturday, 31 March 2018

 🏠   🏷️ 

EFL Awards: Erhun Oztumer Among Goal of the Year Nominees

12:15 pm Saturday, 31 March 2018
The EFL have confirmed the nominees for this 2017's Goal of the Year award and a certain 'Turkish Messi' is among the candidates.
Walsall attacker Erhun Oztumer has been named among the nominees for the EFL Award for 2017 Goal of the Year for his stunning strike during the Saddlers 4-1 defeat to Bolton Wanderers, which took place at the Macron Stadium on Saturday, 11th February 2017.

Oztumer's goal, which came after just four minutes of play, saw the former Peterborough United midfielder lift the ball over Trotters 'keeper Ben Alnwick from around forty-yards out. Sadly The Wizard of Oz's strike was not enough to secure the points as the homeside recovered to put four goals past now former Walsall goalkeeper Neil Etheridge.

2017 Goal of the Year: Shortlist
Graham Carey -  Blackpool v PLYMOUTH ARGYLE - 30th December 2017
Kevin Ellison -  Exeter City v MORECAMBE - 22nd April 2017
Olly Lee - LUTON TOWN v Cambridge United - 18th November 2017
Marcus Maddison - PETERBOROUGH UNITED v Shrewsbury Town - 28th October 2017
Josh Morris - SCUNTHORPE UNITED v Charlton Athletic - 25th November 2017 
Paul Mullin -  Leyton Orient v MORECAMBE - 7th February 2017
Aiden O’Brien - MILLWALL v Northampton Town - 14th April 2017
Erhun Oztumer -  Bolton Wanderers v WALSALL - 11th February 2017
Adam Reach -  Aston Villa v SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY - 4th November 2017 
Joe Williams -  Burton Albion v BARNSLEY - 31st October 2017

The top five goals will be revealed on Tuesday, 3rd April, with the overall Goal of the Year winner being voted for and revealed at this year’s EFL Awards on Sunday, 15th April.

Cast Your Vote: HERE

Voting closes at 9am on Tuesday, 3rd April, when the ten goals will be whittled down to five remaining contenders.

Don't forget, you can also join us across social media, we're @BescotBanter on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.