Friday, 30 June 2017

EFL Confirm Which Teams Have Been Invited to Take Part in the Checkatrade Trophy

EFL Confirm Which Teams Have Been Invited to Take Part in the Checkatrade Trophy

The 16 invited under-21 teams for the 2017/18 Checkatrade Trophy have been confirmed, with newcomers Fulham, Manchester City, Newcastle United and Tottenham Hotspur taking their place in this season’s competition.
The EFL has today confirmed the list of sixteen 'elite' clubs which have been invited to take part in the 2017/18 running of the controversial Checkatrade Trophy, as several large clubs have decided to take part in this season's competition.

News, released via, confirms that Premier League champions Chelsea will again take part, and will be joined by 11 other under-21 sides from England’s top flight as the country’s leading Category One Academies pit their future prospects against professionals from the 48 League One and League Two clubs.

Four EFL clubs will have under-21 sides involved, with Sunderland, Middlesbrough and Reading joining Fulham in the group stage draw, which will take place in July. The first round of fixtures are scheduled to take place week commencing 28th August.

The announcement follows the overwhelming support of League One and League Two clubs to allow the continued involvement of 16 invited sides in the Checkatrade Trophy for the next two seasons, alongside several format amendments to provide increased flexibility in team selection for League One and League Two clubs.

Brighton & Hove Albion, Chelsea, Everton, Fulham, Leicester City, Manchester City, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Reading, Southampton, Stoke City, Sunderland, Swansea City, Tottenham Hotspur, West Bromwich Albion, and West Ham United.

Don't forget, you can join us across social media, we're @BescotBanter on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.